Excellent Game for Multiplication

Sometime last week I was surfing the internet. I was looking for sites that provide math games that can be used for our next week’s lesson. Then I stumbled into this site, www.bigbrainz.com. At a glance I thought this site provide video games, not math games. But then something caught my attention. It was the tag line on top of the site. It said “The Ultimate Multiplication Video Games.” This sentence made me thinking is it possible to combine video game and math lesson (in this case multiplication)?? After that I looked the site more thoroughly. Apparently this site has only one product to offer, a video game called “Timez Attack” where the player must go through many dungeons and fight many monsters by answering questions about multiplications.

When I went to the review part of the page, all the comments there, some of them by teachers, said that how helpful the game was to them in mastering, teaching, or practicing the multiplication tables. One of the comments said that the game not only attract children but also teenagers. With so much high flying comments praising the game I decided to try the game by myself. The site provides two versions of the game, the base version (IT’S FREE!!!) and full version. The difference between the two versions is that the full version provides you with better graphics and more levels to play (base version gives you only 3 levels). So I downloaded the base version, all you have to do is provide your name and e-mail address and then they send you e-mail with links to download the game for free.

After I played the game for sometime I think the game lived up to the praise it got. The game is addictive, the control is user friendly and it provides hints for players to follow. Here are some snapshots from the game:

What I really like about this game is that it provides you with progress reports!! This feature is really handy for us teachers with feedbacks to keep us updated with our student’s progress.

Well I think I’ve said enough because I don’t want you to think that I’m the salesman of this company….hehehe. i don’t normally “promoting” video games but for this game i make an exception. All I can say is that you should try this game by yourself because it’s really good and in my opinion it provides our students with different way to help them practicing and mastering the multiplication table

Tinggalkan Balasan

